New Collateral Assets: LINK

I am relatively new to participating in any sort of governance forums, but I propose the adding the LINK token as collateral on Radiant. The LINK token has a fanatical following, and with its fairly stable price (in terms of USD), I propose it be possible to be used as collateral on Radiant. It need not be interest bearing, but simply allow for LINK holders (who never sell their LINK) to leverage their holdings through Radiant stablecoin loans.

Good to go with LINK

2 Likes

I oppose this typer of thinking because there is no justification to just add additional tokens to use for collateral (especially when there are already other sites where you can stake them). It is precisely because project cross-leverage with tokens they can not determine or control the true value of that causes one failed project (or exchange) to bring down multiple others in a domino effect. Is there anything special about ChainLink that adds value to the Radiant platform – I don’t see any?

4 Likes

Hi @b_cc, one of the main considerations besides security is the potential economic impact. When adding new assets to the money market, the DAO should consider allocating emissions to that asset, which may require re-assigning emissions allocation points on the current collateral, thus decreasing the competitiveness of the yields. In the near future, the DAO should consider adding blue-chip level collateral without allocating RDNT emissions to those assets since this could be one avenue towards generating incremental platform fees for dLP (Radiant locked liquidity).

4 Likes

agree, LINK is an ecosystem and DEFI must

1 Like

I agree with @smcag comments. I think we should have a first principles framework for any collateral is added, rather than people just proposing their bags.